B-cycle is backed by the
Battery Stewardship Council

Australia’s official product Stewardship Scheme for batteries

B-cycle brings people, businesses and communities together to make sure that no used battery goes to waste. We do this by strengthening stewardship across the entire lifecycle.

The Scheme is supported by the Commonwealth and all State and Territory Governments and authorised by the Australian Competition and Consumer Commission (ACCC).

A timeline of trust, transparency and industry opportunity


The Government adds more battery sizes to the Product Stewardship Act (now the Recycling and Waste Reduction Act).


Supported by all Federal, State and Territory Governments, the BSC is formed.


B-cycle consults with industry, and is authorised by the ACCC as Australia’s official battery Stewardship Scheme.


The BSC onboards battery industry leaders and receives a $1 million Federal Grant and matching industry funding.


The B-cycle Scheme launches nationally.


B-cycle will continue to expand the scheme, include more battery types, and stimulate industry innovation.

Swipe for more

The Battery Stewardship Council Board

Gerry Morvell

Libby Chaplin

Craig McIntosh
Company Secretary / CFO

Peter Bruce
Head of Woolworths 360

Ben Pritchard
President, Australian Battery Recycling Initiative

David Stout
Director, Policy, National Retail Association

Andrew Mackenzie
Vice President, Australian Battery Recycling Initiative

Mariusz Surmacz
General Manager Australia, New Zealand and South East Asia, Duracell Australia Pty Ltd

David Pattinson
Business Director, Energizer

Michael Brendle
Group Managing Director, TTI Australia and New Zealand (Milwaukee)

Margaret Donnan
Independent Director

Kylie Hughes
Director, Waste Avoidance & Recovery Policy, Queensland Department of Environment and Science

B-cycle Leadership team

Gerry Morvell
Chair, the BSC

Libby Chaplin
CEO, the BSC

Craig McIntosh
Company Secretary / CFO, the BSC

Brett Buckingham
Director – Engagement & Technology

Jade Barnaby
Director – Best Practice & Innovation

Kirstyn Krausz
Executive Assistant